# Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation – District 10 MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE DISTRICT ASSEMBLY (AMDA) Wednesday, May 15, 2024 At the Ken Houston Memorial Agricultural Centre, Dresden

# EXECUTIVE (Voting)

President 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Treasurer Executive Officer Executive Officer Occasional Teachers' President Equity, Anti-Racism, Anti-Oppression

# DELEGATES (Voting)

ACE	Vacant
AMSS	Ryan Colvin
AMSS	Joeleen DeGurse-MacDonald
BDHS	Stephanie McQueen
CKSS	Jason Chambers
CKSS	Nicole Martin
CKSS	Vacant
CKSS	Vacant
CKSS	Vacant
GLSS	Chris Sommer
GLSS	Vacant
GLSS	Vacant
JMSS	Evan Nelson (Human Rights)
JMSS	Vacant
JMSS	Vacant
LCCVI	Vacant
LCCVI	Vacant
LCCVI	Vacant
LKCS	Lindsay LeClair
LKCS	Jennifer Ryan
LKDSB	Avi Ghosh
LKDSB	Brian McBain
NCIVS	Vacant

# **ATTENDANCE**

Meighen McGregor

Jennifer Kumpf

Tim Dolbear

Andy McLean

Chloe McKinnon

Vacant

Vacant

Joe Kuhn

NLSS	Eric Soepboer
TDHS	Vacant
WDSS	Frank Bonamigo
WDSS	Vacant
WDSS	Vacant
OT	Vacant

# **MEMBERS** (Non-Voting)

Chairperson	Chris Schleihauf
Educational Services Officer	Vacant
Federation Officer	Dave Parkes

# GUESTS (Non-Voting)

Provincial Executive Liaison Martha Hradowy Provincial Secretariat Liaison Dan Staples

# STAFF (Non-Voting)

Recording Secretary Ca

Carolyn Caldwell

# REGRETS

GLSS	Stuart Baillie (Health & Safety)
NLSS	Josh MacDougall
RDHS	Bryan Ferguson
OT	Valerie Carnaghan (CPAC/SW)
OT	Erica Cattford

# 1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Chris Schleihauf, Chair, called the Annual Meeting of District Assembly (AMDA) of District 10 to order at 4:06 p.m.

### 2.0 LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

The Land Acknowledgement was provided by Joeleen DeGurse-MacDonald.

# 3.0 READING OF ANTI-HARASSMENT STATEMENT

Chris Schleihauf read the District 10 Anti-Harassment Statement.

## 4.0 APPOINTMENT OF ANTI-HARASSMENT OFFICER

Dave Parkes was appointed as the Anti-Harassment Officer for the AMDA 2024.

## 5.0 INTRODUCTIONS AND OPENING REMARKS

Jennifer Kumpf introduced and thanked invited guests and all Delegates for attending.

## 6.0 GREETINGS FROM PROVINCIAL OFFICE

Martha Hradowy brought greetings and updates from Provincial Office.

# 7.0 CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE (PROC 201-24)

Dan Staples gave the report of the Credentials Committee. There were nineteen (19) voting Delegates registered, and five (5) non-voting guests, for a total of twenty-four (24) people present at the AMDA 2024.

Moved By: Andy McLean Seconded By: Joe Kuhn

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Report of the Credentials Committee be adopted.

Motion carried.

# 8.0 STANDING RULES (PROC 202-24)

Moved By: Tim Dolbear Seconded By: Chloe McKinnon

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Standing Rules for the 2024 Annual Meeting of District Assembly (AMDA) be adopted as printed.

## 9.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA (PROC 203-24)

Moved By: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded By: Meighen McGregor

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Agenda for the 2024 Annual Meeting of the District Assembly be adopted.

Motion carried.

## 10.0 APPROVAL OF MINUTES (PROC 204-24)

Moved By: Joe Kuhn Seconded By: Andy McLean

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the District Assembly for 2023 be adopted.

Motion carried.

# 11.0 **REPORT OF THE NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE**

Dan Staples, Chief Returning Officer, reported the following nominations for the positions on the Executive:

President	one to be elected	Jennifer Kumpf
Vice President	two to be elected	Meighen McGregor Andy McLean
Treasurer	one to be elected	Avinash Manju Ghosh
Executive Officer	two to be elected	Chloe McKinnon

# 12.0 ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

Chris Schleihauf declared Jennifer Kumpf acclaimed to the position of President.

# 13.0 STRATEGIC ACTION PLAN

#### 13.1 <u>Presentation</u>

Chloe McKinnon presented the OSSTF District 10 "Strategic Action Plan 2024-2025."

### 13.2 <u>Related Resolution</u>

PLAN 201-24

Moved By: Chloe McKinnon Seconded By: Andy McLean

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Strategic Action Plan for 2024-2025 be adopted.

Motion carried.

## 14.0 **ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENTS**

Chris Schleihauf declared Meighen McGregor acclaimed to the position of 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President and Andy McLean acclaimed to the position of 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President.

## 15.0 **BUDGET**

#### 15.1 Presentation of Draft Budget

Jennifer Kumpf presented the proposed 2024 – 2025 District 10 Budget.

#### 15.2 Related Resolutions

15.2.1 BUDG 201-24

Moved by: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded by: Chloe McKinnon

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the proposed budget be adopted as the Budget for the fiscal year July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025.

Motion tabled to allow time for cost estimate resolutions.

15.2.2 BUDG 202-24

Moved by: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded by: Meighen McGregor

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the accounting firm of Jennifer A Davies Professional Corporation – DNA Financial Logistics be hired to perform an independent examination of our accounting procedures for the fiscal year July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024.

# 16.0 **ELECTION OF TREASURER**

Chris Schleihauf declared Avinash Manju Ghosh acclaimed to the position of Treasurer.

## 17.0 **RESOLUTIONS WITH COST ESTIMATES** – none.

#### 18.0 WRITTEN REPORTS

- 18.1 President as written.
- 18.2 Federation Officer as written.
- 18.3 Communications & Political Action/Excellence in Education as written.
- 18.4 Health and Safety as written.
- 18.5 Status of Women as written.

#### 19.0 ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chris Schleihauf, declared Chloe McKinnon acclaimed to the position of Executive Officer.

### 20.0 **RESOLUTIONS**

#### 20.1 <u>CON 201-24</u> - WITHDRAWN

20.2 <u>CON 202-24</u>

Moved by: Joe Kuhn Seconded by: Andy McLean

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Article 6.5 be amended by the addition of:

"6.5.x The Branch shall designate a Branch Member as a representative to the District standing committees per Article 6.3."

Motion carried.

20.3 PROC 205-24

Moved by: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded by: Chloe McKinnon

BE IT RESOLVED THAT CON 203-24, CON 204-24, CON 205-24, CON 206-24, CON 207-24, CON 208-24, CON 209-24, BYL 205-24, BYL 206-24, BYL 207-24, BYL 208-24, BYL 209-24, BYL 209-24, BYL 210-24 be considered en bloc.

20.4 PROC 206-24

Moved by: Chloe McKinnon Seconded by: Jennifer Kumpf

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Resolutions in PROC 205-24 be adopted.

Motion carried.

20.5 <u>BYL 201-24</u>

Moved by: Andy McLean Seconded by: Joe Kuhn

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Bylaw 18.3.2 be deleted.

Motion carried.

20.6 <u>BYL 202-24</u>

Moved by: Tim Dolbear Seconded by: Joe Kuhn

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Bylaw 4.4.3 be amended by substitution of "appoint a chair to" for "chair".

Motion carried.

20.7 <u>BYL 203-24</u>

Moved by: Tim Dolbear Seconded by: Andy McLean

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Bylaw 4.9.9 be deleted.

Motion carried.

20.8 <u>BYL 204-24</u>

Moved by: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded by: Meighen McGregor

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Bylaw 4.9.16 be amended by the deletion of "the wishes of the District Executive" and insertion of "direction established in Bylaw 4.1.6".

#### 20.9 PROC 301-24

Moved by: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded by: Andy McLean

BE IT RESOLVED THAT CON 301-24, CON 302-24, BYL 301-24, BYL 302-24, BYL 303-24 be considered en bloc.

Motion carried.

20.10 PROC 302-24

Moved by: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded by: Andy McLean

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Resolutions in PROC 301-24 be adopted.

Motion carried.

## 21.0 FINAL BUDGET PRESENTATION

#### BUDG 201-24

Moved by: Jennifer Kumpf Seconded by: Chloe McKinnon

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the proposed budget be adopted as the Budget for the fiscal year July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025.

Motion carried.

#### 22.0 OTHER – none.

#### 23.0 ADJOURNMENT

Chris Schleihauf thanked everyone for their participation in AMDA 2024 and declared the meeting adjourned at 5:09 p.m.